webCOMAND

Version Control

Bases use version control to coordinate and record changes to content, including:

  • Audit Trails - Track who made changes and when.
  • Revisions - Retain and restore past versions of content.
  • Locking - Prevent unintended simultaneous and overlapping changes.

Audit Trails

Each time content is created or modified, information about the author and time of modification is recorded.  Optional notes about the modification can be included as well.  Audit trails are maintained independent of revisions.

View audit trails and edit notes from the Versions Sidebar in Form View.

Developers can configure Bases to prune older information with Content Log Settings.

Revisions

Each time content is modified, the previous revision can be retained in the Base.  Each revision includes all of content field values and relationships.  There are three types of revisions stored in addition to the active/approved version of the content:

  • Working Copy - A composite version of the latest modifications from all users, including unsaved changes, which is updated in near real-time.
  • Draft - An editorial revision to document a change or group of changes that are not yet approved.  A draft is created each time content is saved, and removed once the latest draft is approved.
  • History - Previously approved versions of the content, which is disabled by default.

Users can review, open and restore revisions from the Versions Sidebar in Form View.

Developers can enable and configure Bases to retain revisions with Version Settings.

Locking

A mechanism to restrict modification of content items and/or their individual field values to a single user.  This is useful when collaboration is not desired, such as when a batch of updates across multiple fields or content items should be managed by a single user.  A similar feature in other systems include file locking, record locking or "check-in" and "check-out".

Fields are automatically locked when a user starts making a change to the field value, and unlocked once the changes are saved.

Content items locks are optional and made manually from the Versions Sidebar in Form View in order to prevent other users from modifying the content item until it is manually unlocked.  Content item locks can also be made through the API.